Thursday, January 8, 2009

Award announcements

Two award announcements to link to:

The 2009 Charlotte Zolotow Award goes to Bob Graham, for How to Heal a Broken Wing. This annual award honors outstanding writing in a picture book. Past winners include Kevin Henkes, Peter McCarty, Molly Bang and Uri Shulevitz. Thanks to The Joy of Children's Literature for the link!

And speaking of Kevin Henkes, he's won the 2009 Jeremiah Ludington Memorial Award from the Educational Paperback Association, for his "significant contribution to the educational paperback business." I'm excited to hear this - I met Mr. Henkes at the 2007 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture. He's a wonderful speaker and an all-around great guy.


design by